Christina Gagnier :: Flow, presence, and being a constant student

 

Know that you are perfect as you are, but know that you’ll forget. Immerse yourself in the richness of each experience.

You only get one life. Make it a life worth living.  


What does ‘flow’ mean or feel like to you? When was the last time you felt ‘in flow’?

I actually believe that flow is our natural state. I think that the parts stuck in trauma, or that haven’t been integrated properly are the parts that stop people from feeling flow.

Flow state is full body presence. It’s the moment when I am so immersed in what I am doing that time ceases to exist. I always feel intuitive, connected, and constantly aware of what is happening in that moment.

I usually feel flow state when I am teaching. I think that’s because my students are so amazing make it so easy to drop in.

Christina Gagnier 1

What do you love most about teaching / practicing yoga at the moment? 

At the moment, I have been loving the discovery of the Tantric goddesses. In Tantra, goddess mantra’s and chanting are actually meant to be to those aspects of yourself. So you can awaken and enliven those aspects with sound.

What’s something that rejuvenates you even when things are tough?

Biodynamic craniosacral work. It’s like the most amazing movement of life force through the body. I get treatments from this woman named Janine. And she is just magical.

What is your current favourite asana, pranayama or meditation technique?

I am currently obsessed with mantra meditation. It is the one thing every week that I know I have to do. I chant with a group of other yogis at a friend’s house. It’s probably the most magical part of my week.

Christina Gagnier 2

How has your practice of yoga, on and off the mat, influenced your relationships with others?

Yoga has helped me feel more integrated as a person. I think that whenever we are integrated, it also means that we are more able to connect with other.

Disconnection in self leads to disconnection with others. The relationship to the self is the most primary relationship of all and influences how all other relationships play out.

How has your practice of yoga evolved since you began?

I used to only do handstands, but now I love meditation and pranayama. I never thought I would say that. Even 7 months ago, I believed it was all nonsense. Then I did a teacher training with Tara Judelle and Scott Lyons in Embodied Flow. It was like an unknown world opened up to me. Now I can’t get enough of the traditional aspects of yoga.

What is your favourite way to chill out right now?

I love to dance. Intentional dance, without alcohol, is an amazing way to explore movements that make me feel more integrated

What are you reading right now? 

Sally Kempton’s book Awakening Shakti.

What’s something you would say to your 20 year old self?

It’s all ok. You’ll suffer. But be in these difficult experiences as they come to you. Because these hardships will blossom into your greatest gifts. Be curious about everything… even if it doesn’t feel nice. Allow yourself to fall apart. And then put yourself back together as you discover and grow. Know that you are perfect as you are, but know that you’ll forget. Immerse yourself in the richness of each experience. You only get one life. Make it a life worth living.

What does it mean to be a great teacher? How has your perception of teaching changed since you started?

I used to think that teaching meant I had to be well versed in anatomy. I thought that teaching yoga was all about getting people into cool poses. But now I understand that it is a practice meant to awaken people. Now I understand that teaching means I have something to share with people.

I have always had something to share, but now I really own it. I am constantly in a process of discovery and learning so that I am able to share from a deep place.

 

Christina_G_Courtney King
© Courtney King Photography

 


What does it mean to be a real life yogi? 

For me, being a real life yogi means that I am constantly living what I explore on my yoga mat. It means learning to find flow in each experience, easy or difficult. It also means that I am constantly discovering how to create more ease in the way I move through my life. Part of being a real life yogi means that I am exploring presence. For me, presence is the courage to show up in the richness of each experience so I can fully appreciate life.

 

~*~

ABOUT CHRISTINA

I am a constant student. I am curious about life and everything it has to offer. I hate math. I love sausage dogs. Sometimes I like to sing songs to myself about what I’m doing while I clean my house. I love yoga and witnessing people in their self-discovery.


FIND CHRISTINA

instagram | @yvettejune
facebook | The Embodied Nomad
spotify | yvettejune
website | www.theembodiednomad.com

 

 

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

